Personal Update: Happy Birthday to Me!

Woohoo! Today is the day: It’s my birthday! And I thought that would be a good reason for putting up a new blog after a few days of absence. Want to know what I’ve been up to in the past month or so and a preview of what the rest of July will bring me? Then keep on reading!

So first of all I have to apologize for the lack of posts the past few days, but the past week has been crazy busy. I went to a concert, visited my parents, celebrated my birthday there, was on a boat in Friesland with my job, graded a bunch of resits AND went out to dinner with my new colleagues. I did write a few blogs in advance, but the other days I was just sooo tired, that I really couldn’t be bothered writing any more blogs. I had great fun though! It was good seeing my family again and also the outings with (new) colleagues were a lot of fun. I did manage to get a sunburn while on that boat though, despite sufficient use of sunscreen. Unfortunately I forgot that your hairline (?!!) can also get a sunburn. Ouch! Luckily for me, it’s almost gone.

Other things that I have been doing is going to see James Vincent McMorrow & Marcus Foster. I wrote reviews about both shows, which you can check here and here. I was supposed to go see Purity Ring as well, but due to a mishap by Ticketmaster, I didn’t receive any tickets and so couldn’t go. The amount of concerts will be on the back burner until August, as I will be attending my very first 3-day music festival.

I also attended a few birthdays, my final university class ever (well maybe) and I finished writing my paper for both the Social Media class and the presentation in Berlin. By now I also finished grading my final stack of exams for NHTV and my last unofficial workday is on Monday. The only think left to do is clean out my desk and hand over my stuff to my colleagues and that’s that. I already received a bunch of information and materials from my new job, so once I come back from vacation I will have plenty to do.

But it doesn’t stop here. I am celebrating my birthday today with a small group of friends and I baked some lime & poppyseed muffins so the recipe for those will be up in a few days. Then I will be baking my vegan cupcakes to take with me to work to hand out as a farewell/ birthday treat to my colleagues on Monday. The same day I’ll be going to have a farewell high tea with my English colleagues, then there’s drinks on Tuesday with my communication colleagues & students and on Wednesday is the end of year outing from my entire company. So a bunch of social activities coming up.

And then, before I know I will be on a plane, flying first to New York City and then straight on to Toronto for 2.5 weeks of sightseeing, a ton of walking, good food (hopefully) and an overall good time. That’s right in a few weeks time I’ll be going on vacation. I wrote about my trip before, but by now I have a better idea of what I want to do when I’m there, so I will also be doing a post on that, as well as one on what I pack and how I pack (nice organization post methinks) and I will of course also be writing travelblogs while I’m there. So you can expect shoplogs, blogs on what I’m doing, places to visit/ eat as well as any random story I come across.

I’m off now to make some more preparations for today’s party as my friends are staying for dinner. I hope you have a great day and I will try to have posts up again on a daily basis. With those busy social gatherings though I am not sure whether that will work out, but I will try my best. I have quite a few ideas for posts, so keep your eyes peeled!

Take care xoxo, M.

 

4 responses to “Personal Update: Happy Birthday to Me!”

  1. Ik ga lekker in het Nederlands hoor!
    Hele fijne verjaardag, congrats!! Ik kende je blog nog niet maar ben erop gekomen via Beautlab, nu even lekker rondkijken hoor! xoxo Anna

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Discover more from FLOATING IN DREAMS

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading